No more Larkin around now Nigella. I have a spoon in my hand and i am not affraid to use it

I couldn’t believe my eyes on walking into my local store and seeing  Nigella Lawson,Sex Goddess had gone from voluptuous to super model over night….

. So where did  this leave me?? I can tell you now it left me deflated, she captured what most husbands wish there wives could look and cook like, she made it OK to raid the fridge at silly o’clock, it was OK to wear Lycra and have a cleavage(still working on that one) That was not a good day at the supermarket no goodies went into the trolley in fact  i walked around thinking how the hell did she do it, not once did it cross my mind she may have grown tiered of voluptuous and Lycra.

For years to my friends i was known as Ma Larkin (not a name i was happy to be stuck with but it bought with it an endearment, warm house that always smelt of fresh baked foods.

But along came Nigella and there was no more Larkin around!!  That changed friends outlook on me”Oh look what Nigella has cooked” I was happy with that title i can tell you, Lycra stretch dresses and curls sophisticated and cooking!!

“Reality check in the supermarket isle 4 lady having a meltdown” it just hit me and i  realised why they don’t have mirrors in supermarkets, they don’t want us to see what we actually look like even in the clothes isle there is never a mirror.

So i bought the magazine secretly hoping that inside held the secret to immediate weight loss without breaking a sweat, and i took my sorry ass home. I read from cover to cover and fell more in love with Mrs Lawson, she can still cook and looks great she has such passion, so whats a few pounds? She makes a great profiterole desert.

Mental note to self she will have put it back on in a year anyway nobody can cook and eat like she does and be skinny!!!!!

PROFITEROLES,

60 grams of butter,

150 ml of water,

75 grams of plain flour,

2 eggs lightly beaten,

1) Heat the oven to gas mark 7 or 220*c.

2) lightly grease  a large baking sheet and sprinkle with water.

3) In a heavy saucepan heat the butter and water until butter has melted and water just boiling,

4) Remove from the heat and add the sieved flour,beat until it forms a soft ball coming clean away from the edges, allow to cool slightly.

5) Add the eggs a little at a time beating after each addition until you have a smooth glossy paste.

6) Put the mixture into a piping bag ( i use a small nozzle no bigger than my thumb nail about an inch or less,this makes sure your not piping to much air with them.

7) Pipe about a tablespoon size ball on to the baking sheet continue till all the mixture is used.

8) Bake for 10 mins at 220*c then reduce the heat to 180*c gas mark 5 and bake for a further 20 mins until well risen and light golden brown.

Do not be tempted to open the door……….:0 they will rise.

remove from the oven and leave to cool on a wire rack, fill with cream and my chocolate sauce (melted mars bar and or two)

Leave a comment