NEVER HAVE THE TV ON WHEN THE KIDS ARE TALKING LESSON LEARNT!!!

Teenage twin girls is like having a blender without a lid, stuff is going to fly everywhere. Now my girls are the absolute apple of my eyes but at times they dance on the boundaries iv set them. I’m always on hand to listen and offer my advice, and iv learnt that when listening  to them facial expressions are advisable, and the odd ooh ahhhs always good, but on occasions they catch me out. Like the time they got invited to a party i remember we talked about dresses, makeup shoes.(I think maybe the TV was on at which point yes you would probably lose me) Because i don’t recall the subject of alcohol. But sure as eggs are eggs over breakfast, while arranging it with dad Lauren said

“Mum said we are allowed one drink” (my look resembled a deer in car head lights) Even my eight year old recalled me saying it although he is easily bribed with sweets. The conversation turned to how when they are at home i allow them to drink,well i was not prepared for that card to be used, it made me sound like a terrible mother.Yes they can drink wine with a Sunday lunch, one glass i may add then the list got longer vodka in my crab linguine, Baileys at Christmas champagne on New Years eve. God i had not looked at it like i was doing any harm but according to the gospel of teenagers i have allowed them a privilege and then changed the rules mid game. I was under the illusion that by allowing alcohol in a safe environment they would learn moderation, when in fact all they had really learnt was and i quote “Don’t eat a lot it goes straight to your head woooooooo”  The longest most heated discussion over breakfast we have ever had. I was to blame for my fifteen year old becoming lushes and a terrible mother. My own mother reassured me its what all children do they want to try new things and i haven’t done any harm, the girls are not hanging around the streets,messing with drugs they just want to do what all the other girls at the party are doing. I feel i have been right in the way i have handles the situation and i except that times change, and children are growing up to fast,but i also know that my girls are not about to go and get drunk they just want to be allowed to experiment,and being told no is never what a teenager wants to hear.

Well the party came the girls went they didn’t have a drink but they did dance the night away. I have come to realize that i can set boundaries and yes children will always dance on them.

Leave a comment